Why Uberous Hubris?

Why did I name my blog such a funny name? My intention was to point out the mistakes men make when we think we have it all figured out. There’s a verse in Isaiah (55:6-10) that says:

6 Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:
7 Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.
8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.
9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

So, while my original intent was to point out other people’s hubris, I realize that many of the decisions I make are based on my own perception (on Earth), which is nowhere near that of God’s (in Heaven). I’m guilty of hubris, no doubt, but my intentions are such that I hope to point out differences between what God has revealed through prophets and what man is doing despite the warnings. This post is also a caveat to what I’m posting next, since I hope I don’t come across proud.

Leave a Reply

